Central malley – the heart of the west of lausanne

The Central Malley project – the first stage in the redevelopment of the brownfield site of Malley – is located in the municipalities of Prilly and Renens close to Malley ice rink and Malley Lumières shopping centre. To the south of the new Prilly-Malley suburban train station, Central Malley connects the m1 metro line, the future t1 tram line and the future improved bus lines. A high-performance public transport network that fosters soft mobility.

In this future eco-district with enormous development potential, Central Malley will provide residential apartments, office space and commercial units to become the vibrant heart of a completely new urban centre. Designed to meet environmental challenges, the project is an integral part of the spatial development plan being implemented by the conurbation featuring a set of ambitious architectural designs with an emphasis on new ways of living. The buildings will provide a total area of 42,200m2 of which 23,700m2 will be used for office space, 14,700m2 for apartments and 3,800m2 for commercial units.

MORE THAN JUST A GATEWAY TO WEST LAUSANNE – A NEW DESTINATION.

Central malley in figures

  • 42 200 m2 of commercial units, office space and residential apartments
  • 14 700 m2 de logements of apartments with 1.5 to 5.5 rooms, or around 150 units
  • 23,700m2 of office space
  • 3,800m2 of commercial unit space
  • Green, pleasant public space
  • An extensive and improved public transport network

To provide its users with a sustainable living and working environment, Central Malley is adopting an overall environmentally friendly approach. The aim is to significantly reduce the impact of construction and operation on the environment.

In a high-density area, SBB Real Estate is developing a mixed project combining residential accommodation, office space and commercial units which aims to ensure the energy self-sufficiency of the buildings. Just a few minutes from Lausanne city centre, the site has good access to the public transport network. Central Malley is also the first development project in French-speaking Switzerland certified as a ‘2000-Watt Site’.

A PIONEERING ECO-DISTRICT BASED ON EXCELLENCE IN ENVIRONMENTAL AND ENERGY STANDARDS.

The ‘2000-Watt Site’ certificate is an award presented to residential areas that deploy resources sustainably to construct and use buildings and for planning the mobility solutions required.

www.2000watt.swiss

The ‘Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen’ (DGNB) certificate covers a building’s full life cycle. It takes account of its environmental, economic and socio-cultural characteristics based on five specific criteria: impact on the local environment, costs, impact on health, technical qualities and quality management of the planning stages.

www.dgnb.de

A meeting place between the sports centre and the future park in the south of the area, the public space at the heart of Central Malley will ensure synergy in the future district. Two new landmark buildings on either side will add vibrancy to the area, and make a strong architectural impact on the landscape.

Each reinterpreting Malley’s rich industrial past in their own way, they intensify the volumes, perspectives and materials to make the location stand out, all while meeting different functional needs. Situated on the ground floor, the commercial units are directly connected to the public space and its users, with restaurants, a brewery, bar, supermarket, bank, hairdresser’s, kiosk or wine bar. On the floors above, there is completely modular office space supplemented on some floors by urban gardens, and a wide range of 1.5 to 5.5-room apartments.

20TH CENTURY – INDUSTRIAL BEGINNINGS

Attracted by the topography of the Malley valley, the Lausanne authorities developed the Lausanne-Renens tramway stop in 1903, the Lausanne gas works and various other manufacturing activities here. ©notrehistoire.ch

1920s – THE ARRIVAL OF RAIL

In 1922, the construction of the Galicien viaduct, a railway bridge linking Sébeillon railway station with Renens, made it easier to transport goods to Lausanne transforming the north of the district. The railway became a major asset for the area.

1940s – THE DISTRICT’S GOLDEN AGE

The glorious 1930s marked a turning point in the urbanisation of the area. In 1945, the city of Lausanne built its abattoirs here which led to the construction of lots of housing in the district and the opening of the famous Café des Bouchers, a legendary bistro which is still open today.

1960s – THE IMPACT OF EXPO 64

As part of the Swiss National Exhibition in 1964, Malley and the Flon valley, which were turned into the ‘Valley of Youth’ for the event, obtained new road infrastructure, greatly improving access to Malley.©Claude-André Fradel

1970s – THE START OF REDEVELOPMENT

Replacing the former coal gas works, a natural gas storage facility was built in the 1970s. Having become a prominent feature in the area, this spherical tank will be a landmark in the future park in the south of the site. Part of the former gas works became home to the Kléber-Méleau theatre in 1979.

1980s – SPORTS FACILITIES

In 1984, the small factories and warehouses in the north of the district were replaced by the ‘cauldron’ of the Malley Intercommunal Ice Centre. The original ice rink closed in 2017 and reopened its doors in 2019 next to the sports centre and hosted the 2020 Winter Youth Olympics.

2000s – REGENERATION

Malley entered a new era at the turn of the millennium. The Malley Lumières complex – a shopping mall, cinema and sports centre – was built in 2001, followed by the Malley Event Center in 2007 and the official opening of the SBB railway station in 2012 which sped up the transformation of the former industrial site into a district fit for the future.

TODAY – A NEXT-GENERATION DISTRICT

The SBB stop Prilly-Malley is at the heart of the overall plan to regenerate the Malley valley. A major transformation marked by a strong commitment from the cantonal and municipal authorities to soft mobility and social diversity.

Central Malley, cœur de ville de l’ouest lausannois

Le projet Central Malley, première phase de réaménagement de la friche industrielle de Malley, s’étend sur les communes de Prilly et de Renens à proximité immédiate de la patinoire de Malley et du centre commercial de Malley Lumières. Au sud de la nouvelle gare RER de Prilly-Malley, Central Malley connecte le métro m1, le futur tram t1 et les futures lignes de bus renforcées. Un réseau de transports publics performant qui favorise la mobilité douce.

Dans ce futur éco-quartier au formidable potentiel de développement, Central Malley proposera logements, bureaux et commerces pour devenir le cœur vivant d’un tout nouveau centre urbain. Bâti pour répondre aux défis écologiques, le projet fait partie intégrante du plan de développement territorial mené par l’agglomération et profite d’un ensemble architectural ambitieux, tourné vers les nouveaux modes de vie. Les bâtiments développent une surface totale de 42 200 m2, dont 23 700 m2 de bureaux, 14 700 m2 de logements et 3 800 m2 de commerces.

PLUS QU’UNE PORTE D’ENTRÉE SUR L’OUEST LAUSANNOIS, UNE NOUVELLE DESTINATION.

Central Malley en chiffres

  • 42 200 m2 de surfaces commerciales, de bureaux et de logements
  • 14 700 m2 de logements du 1,5 pièces au 5,5 pièces soit environ 150 appartements
  • 23 700 m2 de surfaces de bureaux
  • 3800 m2 de surfaces commerciales
  • Des espaces publics verts et conviviaux
  • Un réseau de transport public dense et facilité

Pour offrir à ses utilisateurs un cadre de vie et de travail durable, Central Malley s’est engagé dans une démarche environnementale globale. L’ambition est de réduire considérablement l’impact de la construction et de l’exploitation sur l’environnement.

Dans un secteur à densité élevée, CFF Immobilier développe un projet mixte mêlant logements, bureaux et commerces visant l’autonomie énergétique des bâtiments. Érigé à quelques minutes seulement du centre-ville de Lausanne, le site profite d’une accessibilité renforcée au réseau de transports publics. Central Malley est aussi le premier projet en développement certifié « Site 2000 watts » de Suisse romande.

UN ÉCO-QUARTER D’AVANT-GARDE EN QUÊTE D’EXCELLENCE ÉCOLOGIQUE ET ÉNERGÉTIQUE.

Le certificat pour les sites « 2000 watts » est une distinction accordée à des zones d’habitats qui exploitent, de manière durable, les ressources pour construire et utiliser des bâtiments, ainsi que pour planifier la mobilité qui en découle.

www.2000watt.swiss

Le Certificat DGNB pour « Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen » s’intéresse à l’ensemble du cycle de vie d’un bâtiment. Il prend en compte de manière globale ses caractéristiques écologiques, économiques et socioculturelles selon cinq critères précis : conséquences sur l’environnement local, coût, impact sur la santé, qualités techniques et gestion de la qualité des phases de planification.

www.dgnb.de

Lieu de rencontre entre le Centre sportif et le futur parc au sud du secteur, l’espace public au coeur de Central Malley et de synergie du futur quartier. Deux nouveaux bâtiments emblématiques viendront l’animer de part et d’autre, marquant le paysage d’une forte empreinte architecturale.

Réinterprétant chacun à leur manière le riche passé industriel de Malley, ils multiplient les volumes, les points de vue et les matériaux pour signer les lieux tout en répondant à différents usages. Au rez-de-chaussée, les commerces sont ainsi directement connectés à l’espace public et à ses utilisateurs : restaurants, brasserie, bar, supermarché, banque, coiffeur, kiosque ou bar à vins. Ils laissent la place, dans les étages, à des plateaux de bureaux entièrement modulables complétés, selon les étages, de jardins urbains et à une grande diversité de logements du 1,5 au 5,5 pièces.

XXE SIÈCLE, DES DÉBUTS INDUSTRIELS

Attirées par la topographie de la plaine de Malley, les autorités lausannoises y implantent la halte du tramway Lausanne-Renens (1903), l’usine à gaz de Lausanne et diverses activités manufacturières.©notrehistoire.ch

ANNÉES 20, L’AVÉNEMENT DU RAIL

En 1922, la construction du viaduc du Galicien, pont ferroviaire permettant de relier la gare de Sébeillon à Renens, facilite le transport de marchandises vers Lausanne et transforme le nord du quartier. Le chemin de fer devient l’un des atouts du secteur.

ANNÉES 40, L’ÂGE D’OR DU QUARTIER

Les Trente Glorieuses marquent un tournant dans l’urbanisation des lieux. En 1945, la ville de Lausanne y construit ses abattoirs, favorisant l’installation dans le quartier de nombreux habitants et la création du fameux Café des Bouchers, bistrot mythique toujours en activité.

ANNÉES 60, L’APPORT DE L’EXPO 64

Dans le cadre de l’Exposition Nationale Suisse de 1964, Malley et la vallée du Flon, aménagée pour l’occasion en Vallée de la Jeunesse, bénéficient de nouvelles dessertes routières, facilitant grandement l’accès à Malley.©Claude-André Fradel

ANNÉES 70, LES PRÉMICES DE LA RECONVERSION

Remplaçant l’ancienne usine à gaz de houille, une sphère servant à stocker le gaz naturel est installée dans les années 70. Devenue un élément emblématique de la zone, ce réservoir sphérique servira de repère au sein du futur parc du au sud du secteur. Depuis 1979, une partie de l’ancienne usine accueille le théâtre Kléber-Méleau.

ANNÉES 80, LES GRANDS ÉQUIPEMENTS SPORTIFS

En 1984, les petites usines et entrepôts du nord du quartier laissent la place au « chaudron » du Centre Intercommunal de Glace de Malley, première version d’une patinoire fermée en 2017… qui rouvrira ses portes en 2019 aux côtés du centre sportif, avant de recevoir les Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse d’hiver 2020.

ANNÉES 2000, LE RENOUVEAU

Avec le changement de millénaire, Malley entre dans une nouvelle ère. Le complexe Malley Lumières, pôle de commerces, cinéma et salle de sport est créé en 2001, suivi du Malley Event Center en 2007 et de l’inauguration, en 2012, de la halte CFF qui va accélérer la mutation de l’ancien site industriel en quartier d’avenir.

AUJOURD’HUI, UN QUARTIER NOUVELLE GÉNÉRATION

La halte CFF de Prilly-Malley se retrouve au cœur du projet de revalorisation globale de la plaine de Malley. Une transformation en profondeur marquée par un engagement fort des autorités cantonales et communales en faveur des mobilités douces et de la mixité sociale.